Among the largest libraries in Greece. It has over 60,000 volumes in Greek and foreign languages, most of which are old. Its entrance hall serves as a study area. The lower level houses the Folk Art Museum which has a fine collection of objects retracing the history of the island.
The Korgialenios Library was established in the center of Argostoli in 1924 in execution of the will of Marinos Korgialenios.
In 1926, a ministerial decree merged this library with the existing public library which had been in operation since 1887.
The initial collection of the Korgialenios library consisted of that of the old library as well as books donated by Marinos Korgialenios.
The first director of the library was Gerassimos H. Moshopoulos, a man of great culture and very dynamic. He worked for almost four decades, going through difficult times.
The Second World War, the foreign occupation and the loss of value of the collection, followed by the destruction of the building by the earthquakes of 1953, led the Library to experience a serious crisis. Fortunately, the books were saved.
The tireless efforts of the Library's Board of Trustees, the funding provided by benefactors, particularly Georgios Vergotis and Evangelos Bassias-Typaldos, as well as the gracious supply of architectural plans by architect Takis Pavlatos, enabled the reconstruction of the building.
|Who we are